Where Are They Now?: The Tearjerkers

Where Are They Now?: The Tearjerkers
Songs or Soap Operas?

Item: 00-GFM0101

This item is permanently out of print


Product Details


Each book in the Where Are They Now? series contains over 50 songs by the artists who defined the music of the era. Plus, each book contains an essay about the times and a special "Where Are They Now?" update section on the songs and the artists.

Admit it -- everyone secretly loves ultra-sappy, sad-story songs. When no one is looking we turn up the radio and wait with guilty anticipation for the clincher -- that one lyric that sends chills up our spine and brings a tear to our eyes. The 25 songs contained in this folio are some of the finest examples ever of that fine songwriter art: song as soap opera. Titles include: Stand By Your Man * It's My Party * Fernando * Ruby * Don't Take Your Love to Town * Town Without Pity * Patches * Only the Lonely * Crying * Ode to Billie Joe and many more.


Title Composer
Mister Blue Dewayne Blackwell (composer)
Mr. Bo Jangles Jerry Jeff Walker (contributor)
Only the Lonely (Know the Way I Feel) Roy Orbison (contributor); Joe Melson (contributor)
Pancho and Lefty Townes Van Zandt (composer)
It's My Party John Gluck, Jr. (composer); Herb Wiener (composer); Wally Gold (composer)
Love Story
At This Moment Billy Vera (composer)
Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) Sonny Bono (composer)
Billy Don't Be a Hero Peter Callander (contributor); Mitch Murray (contributor)
Crying Joe Melson (composer); Roy Orbison (composer)
Don't Take the Girl Larry Johnson (composer); Craig Martin (composer)
El Paso Marty Robbins (composer)
Fernando Benny Andersson (composer); Bjorn Ulvaeus (composer); Stig Anderson (composer)
Honey Bobby Russell (contributor)
Flowers on the Wall Lew Dewitt (composer)
Ode to Billie Joe Bobbie Gentry (composer)
Ruby Don't Take Your Love to Town Mel Tillis (contributor)
Seven Spanish Angels Troy Seals (composer); Eddie Setser (composer)
Stand by Your Man Billy Sherrill (composer); Tammy Wynette (composer)
The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald Gordon Lightfoot (composer)
Town Without Pity Ned Washington (contributor); Dimitri Tiomkin (contributor)
The Unicorn Shel Silverstein (composer)
Vincent (Starry, Starry Night) Don McLean (contributor)
Wildfire Michael Martin Murphey (composer); Larry Cansler (composer)
You Better Sit Down Kids Sonny Bono (composer)

Additional Information

Series: Where Are They Now?
Instrument: Guitar
Version: Guitar/Vocal with Tablature
Format: Book
Page Count: 132
Item Number: 00-GFM0101
ISBN 10: 0-7579-0245-6
ISBN 13: 978-0-7579-0245-1
UPC: 654979192909

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept