Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 19

Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 19

By Sergei Prokofiev Item: 36-A929901

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) began his Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19, as a concertino in 1915 but soon abandoned it to work on his opera, The Gambler. He returned to the concerto in the summer of 1917. It premiered on October 18, 1923 at the Paris Opera with Marcel Darrieux playing the violin part and the Paris Opera Orchestra conducted by Serge Koussevitzky. Igor Stravinsky made his debut as conductor at the same concert, conducting the first performance of his own Octet for Wind Instruments. Despite the events leading to the abdication of Tsar Nicholas II of Russia and eventually the October Revolution, 1917 became Prokofiev's most productive year compositionally. Along with this concerto he completed the "Classical" Symphony, the Third and Fourth Piano Sonatas, and the Visions Fugitives for piano. He also began the cantata Seven, They Are Seven, based on Chaldean texts, and worked on the Third Piano Concerto. Nevertheless, Prokofiev continued his habit of incorporating previously composed sections in the violin concerto (something he would also do in the Third Piano Concerto). He composed the concerto's opening melody in 1915, during his love affair with Nina Mescherskaya. The remaining movements were partly inspired by a 1916 Saint Petersburg performance of Karol Szymanowski's Myths by Polish violinist Paul Kochanski. Movements: 1. Andantino, 2. Scherzo: Vivacissimo, 3. Moderato - Allegro moderato. Detailed instrumentation: Violin Solo: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp.Perc(2).Hp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Sergei Prokofiev
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Solo Strings with Ensemble
Item Number: 36-A929901
ISBN 10: 1-63887-496-4
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-496-6
UPC: 735816225124

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept