Viderunt omnes and Sederunt

Viderunt omnes and Sederunt

By Perotin (Perotinus) Choral Miniature Score Item: 00-K01241
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Perotin (Latin Perotinus) was a most gifted composer of the Notre Dame school, which, during the late twelfth and early thirteenth centuries, was the first school to produce polyphony of international acclaim.

Four of the works included in this collection are organa. A Perotin organum consists of a liturgical chant melody and text, which forms the tenor or cantus firmus. Its rhythm is altered. In approximately the same vocal range, the composer added one, two or three other voices, the duplum, triplum and quadruplum, all of them in one of the six rhythmic patterns known as modi.

Seven of the works included in this collection are motets. These originated throug the tradition of troping, which consisted of the addition of a text to a melismatic piece of music. In motets, it was the duplum of an organum or clausula which was troped. When this happend the duplum was called motetus, and this name was adapted for the entire composition.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Edition
Composed by: Perotin (Perotinus)
Ensemble: Choir
Format: Miniature Score
Page Count: 72
Item Number: 00-K01241
ISBN 10: 0-7692-5948-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-7692-5948-2
UPC: 029156694123

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept