Upon Silence

Upon Silence

By George Benjamin Mezzo Soprano Voice Score Item: 12-0571515789
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Upon Silence sets Long-legged Fly, a late poem of Yeats which portrays three momentous figures in history absorbed in silent contemplation: Julius Caesar planning a crucial military campaign, Helen of Troy as an adolescent in Sparta and Michelangelo painting the Sistine Chapel. The verses are set in a syllabic manner, while each successive chorus is set to increasingly lengthy melismas as, like the long-legged fly above water, the voice hovers above the strings.

For Mezzo Soprano with String Ensemble.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: George Benjamin
Instrument: Voice
Voicing: Mezzo Soprano
Format: Score
Instrumentation: String Ensemble
Item Number: 12-0571515789
ISBN 10: 0-571-51578-9
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-51578-3
UPC: 9780571515783

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept