Two Movements from William Byrd Suite

Two Movements from William Byrd Suite

By Gordon Jacob (1895-1984) / arr. Douglas E. Wagner (ASCAP) Concert Band Conductor Score Grade: 2 Item: 00-49551S
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Of all of Gordon Jacob's major contributions to the British wind band repertoire, the William Byrd Suite (written in 1923) stands as his most-often programmed work. Though originally based on six movements from William Byrd's Fitzwilliam Virginal Book, this setting for developing band incorporates two contrasting movements including "The Earle of Oxford's Marche" and "Wolsey's Wilde." Like Jacob's wind band work, the music is not a mere transcription from the original keyboard collection, but rather stylized with his own inventive musical spirit for modern concert band. A wealth of material here that opens doors to teachable moments as musical textures---dynamic contrasts, articulations, scoring options---are continually changing. Bravo! (2:33)

Sample Pages


Additional Information

Series: Belwin Young Band
Composed by: Gordon Jacob
Arranged by: Douglas E. Wagner
Ensemble: Concert Band
Format: Conductor Score
Item Number: 00-49551S
ISBN 10: 1-4706-4911-X
ISBN 13: 978-1-4706-4911-1
UPC: 038081569895

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept