Tuba Concerto

Tuba Concerto

By Ralph Vaughan Williams / arr. Phillip Littlemore Brass Band Score Item: 12-0571564682
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The Tuba Concerto was written in 1953 and 1954 in response to an invitation to compose a work for the golden jubilee of the London Symphony Orchestra. Vaughan Williams was in is eighty-second year by then; an interest on unusual instrumental sonorities was a feature of his music in the latter part of his life, so his choice of tuba as solo instrument was less surprising than it might have seemed. He justified it by treating it seriously and poetically, emphasizing its lyrical capabilities rather than the more comic propensities. The work is dedicated to the London Symphony Orchestra and its then-principal tuba player, Philip Catelinet, whom the composer consulted constantly throughout the writing of the work. The lively, outer movements both conclude with extended cadenzas, while the beautifully lyrical Romanza is Vaughan Williams at his best. The brass band arrangement is by Phillip Littlemore and is a welcome addition to Faber's brass band repertoire.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Ralph Vaughan Williams
Arranged by: Phillip Littlemore
Ensemble: Brass Band
Format: Score
Instrumentation: Brass Band
Item Number: 12-0571564682
ISBN 10: 0-571-56468-2
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-56468-2
UPC: 9780571564682

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept