Trio Elegiaque No. 1 in G minor

Trio Elegiaque No. 1 in G minor

By Sergei Rachmaninoff Item: 36-M224391
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Written in 1892 by Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) when the composer was only 18, Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor premiered in that same year with David Kreyn at the violin, Anatoliy Brandukov on cello, and the composer at the piano. Cast in a single movement, the work has very clear similarities to the first movement of his mentor Tchaikovsky's Piano Trio in A minor, composed in 1882 after the death of Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky's friend and mentor. While the first Trio élégiaque, which has no opus number and was not published until 1947, was a tribute to Rachmaninoff's own mentor, he wrote a 2nd in 1893 as an actual elegy to Tchaikovsky following his passing.

Additional Information

Series: Master String Series
Composed by: Sergei Rachmaninoff
Format: Score and Parts
Instrumentation: Violin, Violoncello and Piano
Item Number: 36-M224391
ISBN 10: 1-63-361790-4
ISBN 13: 978-1-6336-1790-2
UPC: 660355050787

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept