Three Jazz Settings: I. Introduction and Allegro

Three Jazz Settings: I. Introduction and Allegro
(Danse Macabre)

By Ramon Ricker 4 Saxophones SATBar Conductor Score & Parts Item: 01-ADV7674
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This suite was inspired most notably by the saxophone quartets of Phil Woods and was written in a conscious attempt to wed certain stylistic elements of classical and jazz music. The players are not asked to improvise, but the piece does feature sections that sound spontaneous and freely created. The piece is difficult, but no more so than other quartets, like Glazunov and Desenclos, that are standard repertoire for this instrumentation. Talented high school and all college groups will find success working on this piece. The first movement, subtitled "Danse Macabre," is ominous, dark, sometimes "bluesy," and is propelled along by the use of intricate counterpoint and an improvised sounding solo section for the tenor saxophone.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Advance Music
Composed by: Ramon Ricker
Instrument: Saxophone
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 4 Saxophones SATBar
Item Number: 01-ADV7674
ISBN 10: 3-892217-35-1
ISBN 13: 978-3-892217-35-0
UPC: 805095076745

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.