The Warriors

The Warriors

By Percy Aldridge Grainger / arr. Frank Pappajohn Grade: 5 Item: 36-M907402

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Composed 1913-16 and dedicated to Frederick Delius, The Warriors: Music to an Imaginary Ballet was originally composed for full orchestra. It is Grainger’s longest single work, nearly 20 minutes of sustained fantasy. “No definite program or plot underlies the music, though certain mind-pictures set it going,” the composer wrote. Grainger valued the clarity and transparency of sound in the pitched percussion, which he found particularly useful for what he called “double-chording,” a sort of pantonality with “unrelated chord-groups passing freely above, below, and through each other, without regard to the harmonic clash resulting therefrom.” Though this transcription for large wind band features a slightly reduced version of the original's considerable percussion battery, a full performance will still require 10 players, plus harp and two pianos. Dedicated to Col. Lowell E. Graham, Commander/Conductor, The United States Air Force Band, Washington, D.C. A 9x12 score comes with the set of parts, but an 11x14 score is also offered separately by the publisher.

Additional Information

Series: Percy Grainger Band Series
Composed by: Percy Aldridge Grainger
Arranged by: Frank Pappajohn
Ensemble: Concert Band
Format: Score and Parts
Instrumentation: Concert Band
Item Number: 36-M907402
ISBN 10: 1-62-156161-5
ISBN 13: 978-1-6215-6161-3
UPC: 746241215208

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept