The Rite of Spring

The Rite of Spring

By Igor Stravinsky Piano Duet (1 Piano, 4 Hands) Book Level: Advanced Item: 00-K09521
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The Rite of Spring was commissioned as an orchestral work for a ballet and premiered in Paris in 1913. Differing views of both the music and choreography led to a riot by the audience. The piece is divided into two parts: "The Adoration of the Earth" and "The Exalted Sacrifice." Stravinsky's piece has many defining characteristics, such as its polytonalities, polyrhythms, ostinato layers, and dissonance. This piano reduction for one piano, four hands was written by Stravinsky.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Edition
Composed by: Igor Stravinsky
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 88
Item Number: 00-K09521
ISBN 10: 0-7692-6126-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-7692-6126-3
UPC: 029156067538

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept