The Organ Symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor, Volume I

The Organ Symphonies of Charles-Marie Widor, Volume I

By Charles-Marie Widor Organ Book Item: 00-GB00659
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Charles-Marie Jean Albert Widor (February 21, 1844 -- March 12, 1937) was a French organist, composer and teacher, and was at the forefront of a revival in French organ music in the late 1800's. The organ symphonies are his most significant contribution to the organ repertoire, and came about partly due to the emergence of the symphonic style of organ building typified by the instruments of Cavaille-Coll, with their orchestral voicing and warmer sound. Widor's symphonies can be divided into three groups. The first four symphonies comprise Op. 13 (1872) and are more properly termed "suites" (Widor himself called them "collections".) This book contains the first five of the Organ Symphonies. Included in this book is the famous Toccata from the Symphony No. 5. This beautiful volume is an essential part of the organist's library of romantic organ literature.

Additional Information

Series: Belwin Edition (H. W. Gray)
Composed by: Charles-Marie Widor
Instrument: Organ
Format: Book
Page Count: 184
Item Number: 00-GB00659
ISBN 10: 0-7579-9464-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-7579-9464-7
UPC: 029156638592

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept