The Maid of Pskovitaine: Overture and Entr'actes (La Pskovitaine, 2nd version)

The Maid of Pskovitaine: Overture and Entr'actes (La Pskovitaine, 2nd version)

By Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov Item: 36-A813101

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


The Maid of Pskov is an opera in three acts and six scenes, the first opera Rimsky-Korsakov ever composed. The libretto was written by the composer, and is based on the drama of the same name by Lev Mei. The story concerns the Tsar Ivan the Terrible and his efforts to subject the cities of Pskov and Novgorod to his will. The first product of the composer's interest in this work was a lullaby composed in 1866. There are three versions of the opera. The original version was composed in the years 1868-1872, and received its premiere in 1873. The composer revised the opera in the years 1876-1877. Later he completed a final version in the years 1891-1892. This edition is a reprint of the Overture and Entr'actes from the 1877 version.

Additional Information

Composed by: Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra
Item Number: 36-A813101
ISBN 10: 1-58-106848-4
ISBN 13: 978-1-58-106848-1
UPC: 660355173370

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept