The Magic Toy Shop (La Boutique Fantasque): Suite from the Ballet

The Magic Toy Shop (La Boutique Fantasque): Suite from the Ballet

By Giaochino Rossini / arr. Respighi, Sargent, Bradburd Item: 36-A806601
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The music for The Magic Toy Shop, a one act ballet about a love story between two can-can dancer dolls in a toy shop, is based on piano pieces that were a part of Rossini's Péchés de vieillesse.  Respighi introduced Rossini's score to the impresario Sergei Diaghilev, whose Ballets Russes premiered the ballet in London on June, 5, 1919 to an eagerly awaiting audience. British conductor Malcolm Sargent took Respighi's orchestration and compiled the work into a suite, which has been edited by Nancy Bradburd in this edition. Instrumentation in set: 2+Picc.2+EH.2.2: Timp.Perc(5) Hp.Clst: Str (9-8-7-6-5).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Gioachino Rossini
Arranged by: Respighi Ottorino, Malcolm Sargent, Nancy Bradburd
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A806601
ISBN 10: 1-63887-346-1
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-346-4
UPC: 735816150372

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept