The Funkmasters: The Great James Brown Rhythm Sections 1960--1973

The Funkmasters: The Great James Brown Rhythm Sections 1960--1973
For Guitar, Bass, and Drums

The music of James Brown analyzed by Allan "Dr. Licks" Slutsky and Chuck Silverman Drumset Book & Online Audio Item: 00-MMBK0061CD
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


In this unique rhythm section workbook, 23 James Brown classics have been transcribed, broken down into individual lessons, and meticulously recreated on two hours of recordings. Featuring legendary grooves from the guitarists, bassists, and drummers who ignited the Godfather of Soul for over three decades (including Jabo Starks, Bernard Odum, Clyde Stubblefield, Bootsy Collins, Jimmy Nolen, Country Kellum, and more), this book will enlighten and challenge your soul.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Manhattan Music Publications
Instrument: Drumset
Format: Book & Online Audio
Page Count: 144
Item Number: 00-MMBK0061CD
ISBN 10: 1-57623-443-6
ISBN 13: 978-1-57623-443-3
UPC: 029156203028

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept