The Four Quarters

The Four Quarters

By Thomas Adès String Quartet Score Item: 12-0571540112
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Thomas Adès's second work for string quartet, The Four Quarters was written for the Emerson Quartet and was premiered by them at Carnegie Hall in 2011. The winner of the 2012 British Composer Award for Chamber Composition, the 20-minute work charts the progress of a day. Glassy harmonics typify the opening movement "Nightfalls," whilst playful pizzicati abound in "Serenade--Morning Dew." A somber third movement, "Days," is underpinned by a searching ostinato before the work breaks free from conventional time in "The Twenty-Fifth Hour," the glittering finale which swings and dances in the unusual time signature of 25/16.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Thomas Adès
Ensemble: String Quartet
Format: Score
Item Number: 12-0571540112
ISBN 10: 0-571-54011-2
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-54011-2
UPC: 9780571540112

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept