The Complete Country Dance Tunes

The Complete Country Dance Tunes
From Playford's Dancing Master

Ed. Jeremy Barlow Violin Book Level: Intermediate Item: 12-0571507239
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Playford's The Dancing Master is the classic compendium of English country dance tunes. First published in 1651 it went through eighteen editions in almost 80 years. In its day it was the most popular collection of its kind and engendered numerous imitations. The tunes selected by Playford and his successors were taken from many sources and demonstrate the extraordinary richness and vitality of popular melody in England during the late 17th and early 18th centuries.

This book brings together, for the first time under one cover, 535 tunes and their variants from the eighteen original editions. It provides a fund of musical material for performers, whether folk musicians or baroque instrumentalists, and for class and instrumental music teachers. It is also an invaluable reference book for anyone interested in the history of English music.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Instrument: Violin
Format: Book
Item Number: 12-0571507239
ISBN 10: 0-571-50723-9
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-50723-8
UPC: 9780571507238

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept