The Charterhouse Suite

The Charterhouse Suite

By Ralph Vaughan Williams / arr. James Brown Item: 36-A807402
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) composed a collection entitled SUITE OF SIX SHORT PIECES FOR PIANO in 1920, and this led to musicologist James Brown, in collaboration with the composer, to arrange the set of works for string orchestra under the title CHARTERHOUSE SUITE, which was then published in 1923. Less serious than other works by Vaughan Williams, this suite presents the English composer's lighter, more colorful side. This charming arrangement remains a mainstay in the string orchestra concert repertoire, and has found some use as educational repertoire for more advanced students. Movements: I. Prelude. Molto moderato, II. Slow Dance. Andante grazioso, III. Quick Dance. Allegro molto, IV. Slow Air. Lento, V. Rondo. Andante con moto, VI. Pezzo ostinato. Allegretto.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Ralph Vaughan Williams
Arranged by: James Brown
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra (8-8-5-5-5 in set)
Item Number: 36-A807402
UPC: 746241290953

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept