Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95/ B. 178: From the New World (critical ed.)

Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95/ B. 178: From the New World (critical ed.)

By Antonin Dvorák / arr. Otakar Sourek Item: 36-S003801
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Popularly known as the “New World Symphony,” Antonín Dvorák's (1841-1904) Symphony No. 9 in E minor was composed in 1893 while he was the director of the National Conservatory of Music of America. A major part of the orchestral repertoire, this symphony's melodic material was influenced by the music of Native Americans and African American spirituals he heard during his tenure in North America, while his sense of America's “wide open spaces” after a visit to Iowa's prairies also inspired the feeling of the work. It was premiered by the New York Philharmonic Society, Anton Seidl conducting, on December 16, 1893. This Critical Edition based on the composer's manuscript was edited by Otakar Šourek. Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2+EH.2.2: Timp.Perc(1): Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Critical Editions
Composed by: Antonin Dvorák
Arranged by: Otakar Sourek
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-S003801
ISBN 10: 1-63887-675-4
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-675-5
UPC: 735816312893

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept