Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141

Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141

By Antonin Dvorák Item: 36-A141402
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


While his Symphony No. 9 is better known, Antonín Dvorák's (1841-1904) Symphony No. 7 is argued by many to be his best symphonic work. Inspired in part by his friend Johannes Brahms' new Symphony No. 3, and with a commission from the London Philharmonic Society, Dvorák composed a work with his darkest and most passionate content, writing to one of his friends: "Now I am occupied with my new symphony (for London) and wherever I go I have nothing in mind but my work which must be such again as to make a stir in the world, and God grant that it may." This symphony, which shows comparatively few traces of the composer's folk Czech background, was dedicated to the London Philharmonic Society that commissioned it and is sometimes to referred to as the "London Symphony." It was premiered by the London Philharmonic Orchestra in St. James' Hall, Dvorák conducting, on April 22, 1885. A Critical Edition based on the composer's manuscript and edited by Otakar Šourek is also available from the publisher. Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Antonin Dvorák
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set)
Item Number: 36-A141402
UPC: 746241237040

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.