Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141 (critical edition)

Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141 (critical edition)

By Antonin Dvorák / arr. Otakar Sourek Item: 36-S000901
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


While his Symphony No. 9 is better known, Antonín Dvorák's (1841-1904) Symphony No. 7 is argued by many to be his best symphonic work. Inspired in part by his friend Johannes Brahms' new Symphony No. 3, and with a commission from the London Philharmonic Society, Dvorák composed a work with his darkest and most passionate content, writing to one of his friends: "Now I am occupied with my new symphony (for London) and wherever I go I have nothing in mind but my work which must be such again as to make a stir in the world, and God grant that it may." This symphony, which shows comparatively few traces of the composer's folk Czech background, was dedicated to the London Philharmonic Society that commissioned it and is sometimes to referred to as the "London Symphony." It was premiered by the London Philharmonic Orchestra in St. James' Hall, Dvorák conducting, on April 22, 1885. This Critical Edition based on the composer's manuscript was edited by Otakar Šourek. Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Critical Editions
Composed by: Antonin Dvorák
Arranged by: Otakar Sourek
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-S000901
ISBN 10: 1-63887-673-8
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-673-1
UPC: 735816312596

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept