Symphony No. 6

Symphony No. 6
2nd Movement

By Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky / arr. Richard Meyer Full Orchestra Conductor Score & Parts Grade: 2.5 available in SmartMusicavailable in SmartMusic Item: 00-49045
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The second movement from his sixth and last symphony finds Tchaikovsky at his melodic best, arranged by Richard Meyer. This elegant "waltz" in 5/4 meter has long been a favorite of audiences and is an excellent way to introduce your students to a too often neglected time signature. The interesting instrumentation features winds and strings complementing each other as the two halves of the orchestra take turns playing the melody and accompanying. The brooding and somber Trio section will allow your students to emote in an entirely different way. Five percussion parts have been tastefully weaved into the musical tapestry. From a master of symphonic expression at the height of his abilities, this selection is sure to showcase the best your students have to offer. (6:20)

Sample Pages


Additional Information

Series: Highland/Etling First Philharmonic
Composed by: Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Arranged by: Richard Meyer
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Page Count: 163
Item Number: 00-49045
ISBN 10: 1-4706-4554-8
ISBN 13: 978-1-4706-4554-0
UPC: 038081561219

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept