Symphony No. 44 in E minor 'Trauersinfonie' (Hob. I:44)

Symphony No. 44 in E minor 'Trauersinfonie' (Hob. I:44)

By Franz Joseph Haydn Item: 36-A156202
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Symphony No. 44 was completed in 1772 by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Rumored that the composer requested the third movement be played at his funeral, the work is popularly known as "Trauersinfonie," or the "Mourning" symphony. The piece displays Haydn's "Sturm und Drang" (storm and stress) style, and has four movements, as is typical of a Classical era symphony. Haydn, rather unusually, placed the minuet and trio as the second movement rather than the third, making Symphony No. 44 one of the few symphonies of the Classical era to alter the traditional movement order. This Breitkopf & Härtel reprint edition places the movements in the traditional Classical era format, with the minuet as the third movement. Instrumentation: Str (4-4-3-3-3 in set) (Cl included as Ob2 alt; opt. Bsn to use Vc-Bs part).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Franz Joseph Haydn
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A156202
UPC: 735816302191

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept