Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: Resurrection

Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: Resurrection

By Gustav Mahler Item: 36-A168602
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 2 is subtitled “Resurrection Symphony”, and is the first major work that established the composer’s lifelong view of the beauty of afterlife and resurrection. Written over the course of six years between 1888 and 1894, a delay due in part to the difficulty in finding a suitable text for the chorus in the finale, the five movement work became one of Mahler’s most popular and successful compositions during his lifetime. Initially published in 1897, the Dresden premiere did not take until December 20, 1901. Instrumentation: 4(dPicc).4(2dEH).3(1dBCl+2Eb).4(2dCBsn): 10(4offstg).10(4 offstg).4.1: Timp(3).Perc(6): Hp(2).Org(in set): Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set). Soli SA.Mx Chor (available separately).

Additional Information

Composed by: Gustav Mahler
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 4d4, 4d2, 3d1+2Eb(1d cl4), 4d2 - 10(4 off-stg), 10(4 off-stg), 4, 1, timp, perc, 2hp, org in set, str, soli SA, mx chor
Item Number: 36-A168602
UPC: 746241206497

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept