Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

Composed by Jean Sibelius Full Orchestra Full Score Level: Intermediate/Advanced Item: 06-842215
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The music of composer Jean Sibelius (1865--1957) is often credited with helping Finland form a national identity in its struggle for independence from Russia. Inspired by nature and Nordic mythology, his works include seven symphonies as well as tone poems and choral music.

i>Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104, is a "poem within the framework of a symphony," and Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105, is a one-movement "symphonic fantasy." Conductor Osma Vänskä, a noted interpreter of the composer's music, observed that "Number Six is autobiographical. An aging man feels his own incapacity. The ideals are there, but he cannot reach them. The seventh forms a pair with the sixth, but it is not autobiographical. Number seven is sacred music." Reprinted from authoritative sources, this edition offers musicians and music lovers a sturdy, single volume of Sibelius's last symphonies.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Dover Edition
Composed by: Jean Sibelius
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Full Score
Item Number: 06-842215
ISBN 10: 0-486-84221-5
ISBN 13: 978-0-486-84221-9
UPC: 800759842216

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept