Swan Lake Suite, Op. 20a

Swan Lake Suite, Op. 20a

By Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky Item: 36-A218501
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


While the original ballet, the story of Prince Siegfried's love for the Swan Queen, enchanted by the evil magician Rotbart to turn into a swan everyday, more or less succeeded at its 1877, Moscow premiere, Tchaikovsky was very concerned that the music be saved from the oblivion common to ballet scores. Inspired by the French composer Delibes, he thought to create a concert suite of the music. No further correspondence on the idea exists, but a Swan Lake Suite, Op. 20a was published seven years after Tchaikovsky's death in 1900, containing six numbers from the ballet, though it remains uncertain whether they were selected by the composer or someone else, leaving the exact authorship of the suite unknown. This edition offered by Carl Simpson pulls from multiple sources and restores the final movement to its rightful place at the end while retaining three wonderful dance movements that were added to a later Soviet score, bringing the number of movements to nine, though it may performed as the original suite of six movements merely by omitting the additional three movements from performance. Movements: 1. Scene, 2. Valse, 3. Danse de Cygnes, 4. Pas d'Action, 5. Czardas - Danse Hongroise, 6. Danse Espagnole, 7. Danse Napolitaine, 8. Mazurka, 9. Scene et Finale. Instrumentation: 2+Picc.2.2.2: 4.2+2Crnt.3.1: Timp.Perc (3): Hp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Composed by: Peter Tchaikovsky
Arranged by: Carl Simpson
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: 2+Picc.2.2.2: 4.2+2Crnt.3.1: Timp.Perc (3): Hp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set)
Item Number: 36-A218501
UPC: 679360674215

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept