Summer Nights, Op. 7 (Les nuits d'ete): 4. Absence (transposed in Eb)

Summer Nights, Op. 7 (Les nuits d'ete): 4. Absence (transposed in Eb)

By Hector Berlioz / arr. Robert Sutherland Item: 36-A838301

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


This song cycle is a setting of six poems by composer Hector Berlioz' neighbor and friend, Théophile Gautier.  The text deals in themes of love in all its facets, progressing from youthful innocence to loss and renewal.  Originally composed in 1841 for solo vocalist and piano, Berlioz completed orchestration of each of the six songs in 1856.  While regrettably neglected for many years, this song cycle was rediscovered in the 20th century and has become one of the composer's most popular works.  The songs in the original keys are available from the publisher.  Robert Sutherland has edited five of the songs in the cycle and has transposed each in multiple keys to expand the work to more vocalists.  Songs completed by Robert Sutherland: 1. Villanelle (E, F, and G), 4. Absence (Db, D, Eb, and E), 5. Au Cimetière, Clair de lune (Bb, B, and C), and 6. L'lle inconnue (Eb and E).  A transposition of 2. Le Spectre de la rose to D and a transposition of 3. Sur les Lagunes to g minor is also available from the publisher.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Hector Berlioz
Arranged by: Robert Sutherland
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: 2, 1, 2, 0 - 2, 0, 0, 0, str, solo voice
Item Number: 36-A838301
UPC: 660355084348

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.