Suite from the Opera Merry Mount

By Howard Hanson / arr. John Boyd Item: 00-CBM00035C

This item is permanently out of print


Product Details


Based on Nathaniel Hawthorne's short story "The Maypole of Merry Mount," Howard Hanson's opera Merry Mount was premiered in 1934. John Boyd now brings us a wind orchestration of its four most recognizable selections. "Overture" makes extensive use of Hawthorne's original modal construction, which musically depicts the characters in the opera. The playful "Children's Dance" is followed by the romantic "Love Duet." The suite concludes with the "Maypole Dances." Exciting and true to Hanson's original, this suite is a rich addition to the wind repertoire. (25:00)

Additional Information

Series: Belwin Classic Band
Composed by: Howard Hanson
Arranged by: John Boyd
Ensemble: Concert Band
Format: Conductor Score
Page Count: 76
Item Number: 00-CBM00035C
UPC: 654979194859

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept