For Large Orchestra and Electronics

By Jonathan Harvey Large Orchestra and Electronics Score Level: Advanced Item: 12-0571538886
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Speakings for large orchestra and electronics is undoubtedly one of Jonathan Harvey's most important and ambitious works. Composed in 2008, it utilizes a unique process of electronic transformation developed at IRCAM to explore the possibility that an orchestra could be made to speak. Typeset, and with input from Gilbert Nouno who collaborated with Harvey on the electronic element, this long-awaited new edition makes this stunning piece even more accessible to conductors and enthusiasts.

Winner of the prestigious Monaco Prize, the 25-minute work belongs to a fascinating clutch of works composed around the time of Harvey's final opera, Wagner Dream, which contains musical allusions to Wagner, in this case Parsifal. Unfolding over three continuous movements, the music moves from the babbling of a baby and the frenetic chatter of human life in all its expressions, to music of unity, a hymn that is close to Gregorian chant in which---in Harvey's words---the paradise of the sounding temple is imagined.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Jonathan Harvey
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Full Score
Item Number: 12-0571538886
ISBN 10: 0-571-53888-6
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-53888-1
UPC: 9780571538881

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept