Souvenir de Florence

Souvenir de Florence
for String Orchestra

By Peter Tchaikovsky / arr. Tom Myron Item: 36-A927101
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The String Sextet in D minor, Op. 70, scored for 2 violins, 2 violas, and 2 cellos, was composed in the summer of 1890. Tchaikovsky dedicated the work to the St. Petersburg Chamber Music Society in response to his becoming an Honorary Member. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled Souvenir de Florence because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy, where he also composed The Queen of Spades. The work was revised between December 1891 and January 1892, before being premiered in 1892. It is the only string sextet he composed. This version of Souvenir de Florence is presented with the addition of a contrabass part by American composer/arranger Tom Myron. The first movement is in sonata form and, without introduction, presents a rather violent yet melodic first theme in D minor. The second theme, in the dominant key of A major, is much calmer; it flows from the first theme almost effortlessly and then proceeds into the development and recapitulation, which concludes with a quick coda. The slow second movement in D major has a very innocent, romantic theme initially stated by the first violin with pizzicato accompaniment before being taken up by the cello. Following an interlude for all of the instruments, the theme returns for a repeat of the first section. The last two movements, with their distinctly Russian and folk-like melodies and rhythms, greatly contrast with the previous ones.

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Masterworks Library
Composed by: Peter Tchaikovsky
Arranged by: Tom Myron
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: String Orchestra
Item Number: 36-A927101
ISBN 10: 1-63887-069-1
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-069-2
UPC: 753625314297

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept