Sonatas and Partitas for Violin Solo BWV 1001-1006

Sonatas and Partitas for Violin Solo BWV 1001-1006
Edition by Max Rostal, Urtext

By Johann Sebastian Bach / ed. Max Rostal Violin (Solo) Item: 98-EP9852
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Bach's Sei Solo a Violino senza Basso accompagnato, the set of three Sonatas and three Partitas for unaccompanied violin, were completed by 1720. Perhaps seeded as early as 1703, they were ultimately fruits of his years employed as Kapellmeister at the court in Köthen where his employer Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Köthen, a Calvinist with little requirement for liturgical music and also a keen musician, encouraged Bach to write much instrumental music for public and private entertainment. Nothing written before approached the complexity, expressive range and scale of this music, from the volleys of chords and rhythmic intricacy of the B minor Partita's opening Allemanda>/i> and the endlessly inventive elaboration of the same work's variant 'doubles' to the vastness of the D minor Partita's concluding Ciaccona, possibly the longest stand-alone movement written to that point, which contains worlds of contrast in its 64 variants of the opening bars. Reportedly a fine violinist himself, Bach completely redefined virtuosic and expressive violinistic possibility in these works. This Urtext edition by Max Rostal from Edition Peters is a cornerstone of any violinist's library.

Additional Information

Series: Edition Peters
Composed by: Johann Sebastian Bach
Instrument: Violin
Format: Book
Page Count: 148
Item Number: 98-EP9852
ISBN 10: 0-01-407891-0
ISBN 13: 979-0-0140-7891-1

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept