Sonata, Opus 94 (for Flute and Piano)

By Sergei Prokofiev Grade: (IV-V) Item: 00-00121734

This item is no longer our publication


Product Details


In 1943 Prokofiev composed his Sonata in D for Flute and Piano, Op. 94. This work received its first public performance in Moscow on December 7, 1943 with N. Kharkovsky, flute, and S. Richter, piano. In 1944 Prokofiev transcribed the flute part for violin. This version was first performed by David Oistrakh, violin, and L. Oborin, piano, on June 17, 1944. Later the work was published as the sonata No. 2 for violin and piano, op. 94 BIS. The violin and piano version so successfully played by David Oistrakh and Joseph Szigeti is better known than the original flute version. The present edition has been thoroughly edited and contains both the flute and violin versions in the piano score so that the variations between the two versions in regard to tempo and technique can be clearly distinguished. (MCA MUSIC)

Additional Information

Composed by: Sergei Prokofiev
Instrument: Flute
Item Number: 00-00121734

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept