Sonata No. 8, Opus 84 (B-flat Major)

By Sergei Prokofiev / ed. György Sándor Level: Advanced Item: 00-00121209A

This item is no longer our publication


Product Details


This edition of the Prokofiev Sonata No. 8 is based on the original, unedited edition first published in the Soviet Union. This edition stays as close as possible to the original text, while correcting some of its obvious misprints, adding fingering, phrasing, dynamic markings, and pedal. Lyric elements are evident in both the Andante dolce (first movement) and the Andante sognando (second movement). The toccata-like third movement uses the piano's full sonority while at the same time treating it also as a percussive instrument. This clearly engraved, scholarly edition is the finest edition available of this virtuosic contemporary work.

Additional Information

Composed by: Sergei Prokofiev
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 64
Item Number: 00-00121209A
ISBN 10: 0-7579-8153-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-7579-8153-1
UPC: 654979025856

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept