Sonata in A minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 34

Sonata in A minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 34

By Amy Beach / arr. Joan Manen Item: 36-M310191
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The Sonata in A minor for Violin and Piano dates from 1897 and was premiered in the same year with the composer at the piano and Franz Kneisl, concertmaster of the Boston Symphony Orchestra as the violin soloist. In the Morning Journal, January 5, 1897, Mr. C. L. Capen describes the sonata as “an eminently sincere, spontaneous and able work, and one that bears the stamp of originality, as well as scholarship of surpassing merit.” The opening movement, Allegro moderato, is dark and autumnal, followed by a bright Scherzo, complete with contrasting trio. The third movement, Largo con dolore, is mournful and elegaic, and the finale, Allegro con fuoco is explosive and dramatic and exhibits effective canonic counterpoint between the instruments. Stylistically, the Sonata is influenced by Schumann, Brahms and Franck. It was first published by the Arthur P. Schmidt Company in 1899 and has since become one of Beach's most popular pieces.

Additional Information

Series: LudwigMasters
Composed by: Amy Beach
Arranged by: Joan Manen
Instrument: Violin
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Violin and Piano
Item Number: 36-M310191
UPC: 746241253965

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List