Sonata Brevis, Opus 95a

Sonata Brevis, Opus 95a

By Bertold Hummel E-flat Alto Saxophone & Piano Parts Item: 01-ADV7036
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The character of the opening movement, "Allegro," is determined by the sonata form with two themes. In the course of its development, the first theme takes on a jazz-like diction. In contrast, the second theme has the character of a ländler (folk dance in 3/4 time). As the movement continues, interactions and contrasts between the two themes create charming moments. The second movement, "Sostenuto," has the form of an arch. Above a pedal-point, the melodic material of the movement is presented. In "Arioso," chorale-like episodes alternate with recitative-like insertions. At the medial section of the movement, the Gregorian hymn "Veni creator spiritus" is heard---played by the saxophone. A substantially reduced reprise closes the movement in extreme pianissimo. The final movement, "Presto," with its variable metrical structure, has a rondo-like character. Three different musical ideas emerge and are tossed together into a colourful mixture. A terse Stretta concludes this playfully virtuoso movement. Arranged for E-flat alto saxophone and piano.

Titles: Allegro * Sostenuto * Presto.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Advance Music
Composed by: Bertold Hummel
Instrument: Saxophone
Format: Parts
Instrumentation: E-flat Alto Saxophone & Piano
Item Number: 01-ADV7036
UPC: 805095070361

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept