By Nigel Hess Wind Band Score & Parts Item: 12-0571563074

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Commissioned in 1994 by the Royal Air Force, Scramble! is a concert overture for symphonic wind band inspired by images of the RAF's airfields during the Battle of Britain, immortalized for ever in such films as Reach for the Skies.

The pastoral opening depicts the lull before the storm: the young pilots sitting in wicker chairs outside their barracks on a sunlit morning. The peace is, of course, deceptive, suddenly amid siren sounds, there is a shout of Scramble!, and a rush to the waiting planes. In no time at all the squadron is airborne, heading for a skirmish over the English Channel and beyond. A lyrical central section featuring a solo cornet depicts the stillness many pilots described as they flew to engage the enemy, before the battle breaks out once more. For those who returned, it would be only a short while before, once again, they would hear the familiar shout of Scramble!

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition: Faber Wind Band Series
Composed by: Nigel Hess
Ensemble: Wind Band
Format: Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Wind Band
Item Number: 12-0571563074
ISBN 10: 0-571-56307-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-56307-4
UPC: 9780571563074

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List