Scottish Fantasy (Schottische Fantasie), Op. 46 for Solo Violin and Orchestra

Scottish Fantasy (Schottische Fantasie), Op. 46 for Solo Violin and Orchestra

By Max Bruch Item: 36-A135702
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Written in 1880 and premiered on February 22, 1881, by the Liverpool Philharmonic Society under the direction of the composer, with Joseph Joachim performing the solo violin, the SCHOTTISCHE FANTASIE (SCOTTISH FANTASY), Op. 46, is one of several Max Bruch (1838-1920) works that is still widely heard today. Despite having not yet visited Scotland, Bruch became familiar with Scottish folk melodies from a collection at the Munich library and incorporated several such melodies in the work: "Through the Wood Laddie," "The Dusty Miller," "I'm A' Doun for Lack O' Johnnie," and "Hey Tuttie Tatie" (or "Scots Wha Hae"). The orchestra includes a harp, which has prompted many to wonder if Bruch was aware of the central role the Celtic harp plays in authentic Scottish folk music, or if the inclusion was merely a coincidence. Instrumentation in set: Timp.Perc: Hp: Str (9-8-7-6-5): Solo Violin.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Max Bruch
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Solo Strings with Ensemble
Item Number: 36-A135702
UPC: 735816167875

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept