Reverie et Caprice

Reverie et Caprice

By Hector Berlioz / ed. Neil Heyde Violin & Piano Parts Item: 12-057151510X
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Following the composition of Harold En Italie for Viola and orchestra in 1834, Berlioz began work on the opera Benvenuto Cellini, which subsequently failed on its first performances at the Paris Opera in 1838. Berlioz withdrew the opera for substantial revision, and from some of the discharged material he later fashioned this Reverie Et Caprice (in versions both for violin and orchestra and violin and piano). Dedicated to Berlioz's violinist friend Alexandre-Joseph Artot, the piece was quickly taken up by several celebrated violinists of the time, including David, Joachim and Wieniawski, and was played all over Europe.
This new edition for violin and piano, by the musicologist and performer Neil Heyde, is based on the first edition of the score.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Hector Berlioz
Instrument: Violin
Format: Parts
Instrumentation: Violin & Piano
Item Number: 12-057151510X
ISBN 10: 0-571-51510-X
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-51510-3
UPC: 9780571515103

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept