Op. 31a

By Oliver Knussen Score & Parts Item: 12-0571520561
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This enchanting 8-minute piece for violin and piano---Oliver Knussen's penultimate work---is made up of various kinds of musical reflection: melody reflected in its inversion; a six-note mode reflected in its complement; and the relationships between the three main parts of the piece, which are in a way varied reflections of each other. There are some reflections in water, too; the work's opus number (31a) demonstrates a relationship to Knussen's unfinished Cleveland Pictures: "The main melody began as a response to Gauguin's painting of a Breton woman swimming," Knussen wrote, "and there is also, perhaps, an echo of the lonely underwater world of an ondine, eventually breaking the surface at the end of the piece."

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Instrument: Violin
Format: Score & Part
Item Number: 12-0571520561
ISBN 10: 0-571-52056-1
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-52056-5
UPC: 9780571520565

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept