Rachmaninoff Suites 1-2 (Value Pack)

Rachmaninoff Suites 1-2 (Value Pack)
For Two Pianos, Four Hands

By Sergei Rachmaninoff / ed. Maurice Hinson and Allison Nelson Level: Advanced Item: 00-107080
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This Value Pack includes Rachmaninoff's Fantaisie-tableaux (Suite No. 1), Op. 5 and Suite No. 2, Op. 17.

Fantaisie-tableaux (Suite No. 1), the large four-movement work, was written in 1893 and premiered by Rachmaninoff and Pavel Pabst in Moscow. It is dedicated to Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky. A few lines of poetry by Romantic poets preface each movement. The theme of love in the first two movements is brought to life by the two pianos with colorful, passionate writing. The final two movements feature the sound of bells---the third movement inspired by cathedrals bells that Rachmaninoff heard as a youngster, and the fourth movement capturing the jubilant sound of Easter carillon.

Suite No. 2, Op. 17 was written between 1900 and 1901, and was premiered in 1901 by Rachmaninoff and Alexander Siloti. This virtuosic suite is orchestral in nature and contains four movements. The first movement serves as a march-like introduction, and the second and fourth movements are dances---a waltz and tarantella. Between the two dances is a slow third movement. Two copies required for performance.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Author: Sergei Rachmaninoff
Instrument: Piano
Format: Value Pack
Item Number: 00-107080
UPC: 038081391496

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept