Quintet in D Major

Quintet in D Major

By Ralph Vaughan Williams Chamber Quintet Score & Parts Item: 12-0571519830
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Quintet in D is in four movements: Allegro moderato, an Allegretto Intermezzo, Andantino and an Allegro molto finale. If it only fitfully contains elements of the mature Vaughan Williams, it is a delightful work in its own right, with playful touches and more than a ration of charm. The writing for piano is very accomplished and shatters the myth, much propagated by the composer himself, that he lacked technique. It is like anglicised Brahms with a sense of humor, notably in the Intermezzo, and there is even an allusion to the slow movement of Brahms' Fourth Symphony in the Andantino.

The total duration is about 25 minutes.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Ralph Vaughan Williams
Ensemble: Chamber Quintet
Format: Score & Parts
Item Number: 12-0571519830
ISBN 10: 0-571-51983-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-51983-5
UPC: 9780571519835

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept