Prokofiev: Sonatas, Opp. 1, 14, 28, 29

Prokofiev: Sonatas, Opp. 1, 14, 28, 29

By Sergei Prokofiev / ed. Thomas Schumacher Piano Book Level: Advanced Item: 00-46023
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Sergei Prokofiev's nine piano sonatas span the years 1907 to 1953. This collection, edited by Thomas Schumacher, addresses the first four of these masterworks: Op. 1 (in F minor), Op. 14 (in D minor), Op. 28 (in A minor), and Op. 29 (in C minor). In prefatory matter, Schumacher discusses Prokofiev's compositional style and the form of each sonata, in addition to analyzing the various themes and compositional nuances of each work. Helpful fingering and pedaling suggestions are also offered in this comprehensive, clearly engraved edition.

Thomas Schumacher, professor emeritus of piano at the Eastman School of Music, has toured and lectured throughout the United States, Canada, Italy, Sweden, Belgium, China, Taiwan, and Japan. He studied at the Manhattan School of Music and the Juilliard School.

Sample Pages



About This Edition
About the Composer
About the Music
Sources Consulted
Sonata No. 1 (in F minor), Op. 1
Sonata No. 2 (in D minor), Op. 14
Sonata No. 3 (in A minor), Op. 28
Sonata No. 4 (in C minor), Op. 29

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Sergei Prokofiev
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 108
Item Number: 00-46023
ISBN 10: 1-4706-3678-6
ISBN 13: 978-1-4706-3678-4
UPC: 038081522562

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept