Elegant, Lush Nocturnes Now Available from Alfred Music

June 22, 2018

NocturnesAlfred Music, the leading publisher in music education since 1922, is pleased to announce the release of Dennis Alexander’s new collection, Nocturnes. Typically found in nocturnes are lyrical melodic lines, beautiful harmonies, and left-hand arpeggiated accompaniment patterns. Each nocturne in this two-book collection has these qualities along with their own unique character, mood, and sophisticated sound.

Nocturnes represent quiet and meditative night music. The pieces are meant to encourage students to better understand the beauty and elegance of the Romantic-period style. Similar in style and form to those of Frédéric Chopin, these technically accessible nocturnes are suitable for student recitals and competitions.

Nocturnes, Book 1 contains eight nocturnes for early intermediate to intermediate pianists. Titles: Nocturne No. 1 in C Major • Nocturne No. 2 in E Minor • Nocturne No. 3 in F Major • Nocturne No. 4 in D Minor • Nocturne No. 5 in G Major • Nocturne No. 6 in A Minor • Nocturne No. 7 in G Minor • Nocturne No. 8 in D Major.

Nocturnes, Book 2 contains six nocturnes at the intermediate to late intermediate levels. Titles: Nocturne No. 9 in A Minor • Nocturne No. 10 in F Major • Nocturne No. 11 in D Major • Nocturne No. 12 in D-flat Major • Nocturne No. 13 in G Major • Nocturne No. 14 in F Minor.

Nocturnes, Books 1–2 are available for $8.99 each at music retail stores, online retailers, and at alfred.com/Nocturnes.

Review copies are available upon request.

 Back to Press Room

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept