Piano Sonata No. 2, "Concord," With the Essays Before a Sonata

Piano Sonata No. 2, "Concord," With the Essays Before a Sonata

By Charles Ives / ed. Stephen Drury Piano Book Level: Advanced Item: 06-488632

This item is permanently out of print


Product Details


The Piano Sonata No. 2, commonly known as the Concord Sonata, embodies many of Charles Ives' experimental techniques and ranks among his best-known and most highly regarded works. The four movements are named for Concord, Massachusetts-based literary figures associated with Transcendentalism. This edition includes the original essays on Emerson, Hawthorne, the Alcotts, and Thoreau that accompanied the 1920 Knickerbocker edition. An informative Introduction by Stephen Drury, the editor of this edition and an expert performer of the work, places the Concord in its historic context. This affordably priced volume will delight intermediate- and advanced-level pianists as well as collectors and enthusiasts of twentieth-century American music.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Dover Edition
Composed by: Charles Ives
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Item Number: 06-488632
ISBN 10: 0-486-48863-2
ISBN 13: 978-0-486-48863-9

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept