Piano Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1

By Carl Vine Full Orchestra Full Score Item: 12-0571572162
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Carl Vine's Piano Concerto No. 1 (1997) is one of three large-scale works composed with pianist Michael Kieran Harvey in mind---the others being his first two piano sonatas. Vine describes it as "a conscious and continuous tribute to the piano concerto as a medium and historical entity," a fact most apparent in the slow movement, with its long melodic lines evoking both Ravel and Bach. This 25-minute concerto is cast in the familiar three-movement form, with fast outer movements framing a central slow movement. The outer movements share some material (particularly in some lively conversational interchanges between piano and trumpet), and also some typically pianistic glitter across the orchestra, with harp and glockenspiel ensuring that the piano is less of an outsider than might have otherwise been the case.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Carl Vine
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Full Score
Item Number: 12-0571572162
ISBN 10: 0-571-57216-2
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-57216-8
UPC: 9780571572168

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept