On the Performance of Beethoven's Symphonies and Other Essays

On the Performance of Beethoven's Symphonies and Other Essays

[Ludwig van Beethoven] By Felix Weingartner Book Item: 06-439666

This item is permanently out of print


Product Details


This volume contains English translations of three important literary works of the conductor Felix Weingartner (1863-1942). The title essay is a detailed account of specific performing difficulties and questions of interpretation in each of the nine symphonies, a comprehensive treatment that will be indispensable to music students. Also included are "On Conducting" and "The Symphony Since Beethoven," both of which attest to Weingartner's belief that art is at its best when an "exceedingly delicate balance is attained between the feeling and the intellect." Weingartner's wealth of observations on music and musicians makes fascinating reading for anyone interested in music.
Unabridged republication of the 1969 Dover edition. [5 3/8 x 8 1/2, 320 pp.

Additional Information

Series: Dover Edition
Composed by: Ludwig van Beethoven
Author: Felix Weingartner
Format: Book
Item Number: 06-439666
ISBN 10: 0-486-43966-6
ISBN 13: 978-0-486-43966-2
UPC: 9780486439662

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept