Octet, Op. 20

Octet, Op. 20

By Felix Mendelssohn Item: 36-A105002
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Written when Felix Mendelssohn was only 16 years old, his "Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20", written in 1825 for four violins, two violas, and two cellos, contributed to the creation of a new chamber music genre and is one of Mendelssohn's first works to be well-received.  While double string quartets were gaining in popularity during the time this octet was composed, Mendelssohn noted in the score that the piece should "be played by all the instruments in the style of a symphony," making the ensemble undivided.  The scherzo movements was later scored for orchestra to replace the minuet at the premiere of Mendelssohn's First Symphony.  The work as a whole make extensive use of counterpoint, showcased most notably in the eight-part fugato during the finale movement.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Felix Mendelssohn
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 4vn, 2va, 2vc (set as scored)
Item Number: 36-A105002
UPC: 660355056222

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List