O Hototogisu!

O Hototogisu!
Fragment of a Japonisme

By Oliver Knussen Score Level: Advanced Item: 12-0571541119
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This exquisite "fragment of a Japonisme"---premiered in 2017 and conceived as a kind of double concerto for soprano, flute, and ensemble of 23 players---O Hototogisu! has proven to be Oliver Knussen's final work. The eight-minute piece couches seven exquisite haiku settings in richly evocative music, which incorporates signals from Japanese theater (particularly Kabuki). It concerns the Hototogisu (or Lesser Cuckoo), a bird widely invoked in Japanese haiku poetry of the 17th to 19th centuries, in which the poet listens for its arrival from the mountains both as a harbinger of summer and a voice from the land of the dead. Composed for soprano, flute, and full orchestra.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Oliver Knussen
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Score
Item Number: 12-0571541119
ISBN 10: 0-571-54111-9
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-54111-9
UPC: 9780571541119

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept