Concerto for Piano and Ten Players

By Tansy Davies Chamber Ensemble Score Item: 12-0571539327
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Nature, Tansy Davies' gloriously offbeat concerto for piano and ten instruments from 2012, teems with invention. This 20-minute work was inspired by shamanic rituals and the supernatural, and Davies describes the piano as 'part moth, part Maenad'. There is a feral quality to much of the tumultuous solo writing---all hyperactive trills and gutsy bass eruptions, shot through with rare and unexpected moments of calm. Brilliantly imaginative, and packed full of glistening, ever-changing ensemble textures, this remarkable reimagining of the concerto form sees Davies craft yet another thrilling and wholly distinctive soundworld.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Tansy Davies
Ensemble: Chamber Ensemble
Format: Score
Instrumentation: Alto Flute (Flute), Cor Anglais (Oboe), Bass clarinet in B flat, Horn in F, Percussion (Marimba, 5 Temple Blocks, 4 medium Tom-Toms, 1 Floor Tom, Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Tam-Tam), Harp, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass
Item Number: 12-0571539327
ISBN 10: 0-571-53932-7
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-53932-1
UPC: 9780571539321

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept