Mozart: Piano Sonatas, Vol. I

Mozart: Piano Sonatas, Vol. I
K. 279--284; K. 309--311

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / ed. Stewart Gordon Piano Book Level: Late Intermediate / Advanced Item: 00-46908
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Essential to the library of every pianist, this two-volume critical edition from Dr. Stewart Gordon, a world-renowned professor of keyboard studies at the University of Southern California's Thornton School of Music, provides all the tools necessary for stylistic performance. Dr. Gordon's thorough research of the earliest available sources, as well as careful study of all modern editions, has captured the most accurate reflection of the composer's intent. This newly engraved edition contains helpful fingering suggestions and performance recommendations, including possible realizations for all ornamentation. Also included is a discussion of Mozart and the early piano, as well as considerations for tempos and for period-appropriate ornamentation and improvisation. These volumes also present a useful list of recordings of the complete Mozart piano sonatas, an extensive bibliography, a reference chart of autographs and early editions, and detailed analysis of the form of each sonata movement.

The sonatas in each volume are organized by Köchel (K.) number. Volume I contains nine sonatas, K. 279--284 and 309--311. 188 pages. Comb-bound.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Stewart Gordon
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 188
Item Number: 00-46908
ISBN 10: 1-4706-4023-6
ISBN 13: 978-1-4706-4023-1
UPC: 038081539478

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.