Missa Brevis in C, K. 220/196b "Sparrow Mass" (Spatzenmesse)

Missa Brevis in C, K. 220/196b "Sparrow Mass" (Spatzenmesse)

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Item: 36-A268702
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The MASS IN C, K. 220/196b, often referred to by the nickname "Spatzenmesse" or "Sparrow Mass" due to the violin figure in the Hosanna of the Sanctus that recalls the chirping of birds, is Mozart's 9th mass and his fifth Missa brevis. Possibly first performed at an Easter celebration on April 7 1776 at the Salzburg Cathedral, the short work is written for two trumpets, timpani, organ, and strings (2-2-0-1-1 in set), with both SATB soloists and mix choir.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Choral Library
Composed by: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Mass, Chamber Accompaniment
Item Number: 36-A268702
UPC: 735816140762

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept